Thursday, 2 August 2012

Monash University - VACC winners

Monash University industrial design students won three of the major awards at the 2012 VACC automotive design competition.

Graduates, Ali Jafari, James Robertson, and Beichen Nan are on the road to promising careers after being recognised as talented and passionate next generation designers at a recent award ceremony in Melbourne.

The competition, now in its eighth year and run by the Victorian Automobile Chamber of Commerce (VACC), is divided into four categories; model-making, design, essay and the newly introduced People’s Choice Award.

Beichen Nan won the People’s Choice Award for his Amphi-X amphibious vehicle, a concept he created as his final year project as a student. His vehicle design offers a transport solution for busy cities with water arteries looking to ease traffic congestion.

Beichen Nan's design the Amphi-X amphibious vehicle.

Ali Jafari's sustainable urban transport concept.

James Robertson motorbike concept.

“The Target 2030 encourages you to be creative. The competition is great for students wanting to get into the industry as they get the opportunity to directly interact with automotive designers,” Beichen said.

“My design, Amphi-X, looked at how we could really employ an alternative route for traveling instead of using busy congested roads, especially in big cities.”

Fellow graduate James Robertson was the winner of the tertiary model-making category for his light-weight motorcycle concept, and winner of the tertiary design category, Ali Jafari, received an award for his sustainable urban transport concept.

This is not the first time Monash University has taken top prize at Target 2030. In 2010/11 they scooped top prizes in all tertiary level categories.

Course Coordinator and Senior Lecturer in Industrial Design, Mr Selby Coxon said it was an outstanding result for the Department of Design.

“This award shows that Monash University is leading within the industrial design industry. Our students produce extraordinary work during their time at the Faculty of Art Design & Architecture,” Mr Coxon said.

(Left to right): Tania Romano, James Roberton, Ali Jafari, Minister Dalla-Riva, James Patrick, Beichen Nan, Sam Karopoulos, Todd Linnett.

No comments:

Post a Comment